Busoye Matthias Emerges Speaker of UI’SRC 11th Assembly, Others


By Aduwo Ayodele

Busoye Opegbemi Matthias, a 400L student of the Department of Electronic Engineering, has on Thursday, 16 May 2024 emerged Speaker of the Students’ Representative Council, University of Ibadan Students’ Union.

Right Honorable Matthias Opegbemi won the election with eighty-nine votes, where other contenders for the legislative office, Kikiola Babalola and Afolabi Saheed had twenty (20) and fifteen votes respectively.

Speaking about his motivation, the Speaker-elect noted that his aspiration was borne out of a sense of selflessness and a readiness to combine intellectual rigour with radical approach.

“Born out of a sense of selflessness, my ambition recognizes the critical juncture at which our Students’ Union currently stands. The Union demands a leader who combines intellectual rigour with a radical approach to effectively steer it towards meaningful change” the Speaker-elect said.

Promising due diligence with the discharge of constitutional duties, Rt. Honorable Busoye Matthias assured that he would ensure that the council operates transparently and effectively in representing the interests of all students.

“By adhering strictly to the constitutional framework, I am to foster a council environment that upholds fairness, accountability, and respect for the democratic processes that govern our actions and decisions’ Rt. Hon. Matthais noted.

Stating his eleven agenda for the 11th Assembly, Rt. Honorable Matthias noted that his intents include “reinvigorating students’ union advocacy; enhancing communication, unity and committee participation; leveraging our collective power for student advocacy; promoting collaborative governance between the Executive and Legislative branches; fostering trust and support through SRC visibility and engagement with the student body”, among others.

Other elected principal officers of the Legislative Council are Honorable Shoge Quadri as Clerk; Honorable Jokanola Adewale as Deputy Speaker; and Ojo Felicia as Chief Whip.

Comments are closed.