Egboche Iyanuoluwa Emerges Great Independence Hall Speaker, Others

By – Aduwo Ayodele

The Great Independence Hall of Residence Legislative Council, on Saturday, 11th May 2024 elected a new set of principal officers, who will lead the new Assembly.

The in-house election held at the Hall’s JCR, conducted by the immediate past Speaker, Rt. Honorable Olaoye, following its result produced Honourable Egboche Ehikowoicho Iyanuoluwa as the Speaker to head the Assembly in the next (2023/2024) academic session.

Image – Rt. Honorable Egboche Iyanuoluwa

As the in-house election proceeded, Honorable Balogun Ayotunde emerged as the Deputy Speaker; Honorable Abdulhakeem Abdurrahman emerged as the Clerk; and Honorable Oduyale Michael emerged as the Chief Whip.

The new Speaker, Rt. Honorable Egboche Iyanuoluwa in his inaugural address called on members of the hallowed chamber to contribute their share of positive quota to the hall.

“On our shoulders lie the responsibility of working together as a family to safeguard the future of this great republic. I urge that we contribute our positive quota to make the dream of a better Katanga Republic to be a reality” Rt. Hon. Egboche said.

Addressing the Hall’s leadership which would be sworn-in shortly, Rt. Hon. Egboche stressed that ‘reluctant attitude towards the discharge of duties, improper planning, misappropriation of funds and gross misconduct‘ will not be tolerated.

There should be maximal use of disbursed funds and there must be transparency on all affairs that concern the hall” the Speaker added.

The valedictory sitting which ended by 10:20pm was adjourned till further notice.

Comments are closed.