UI College Of Medicine Inducts New Doctors

By: Ajadi Sodiq

It was a happy atmosphere at Paul Hendrickse lecture theatre, University College Hospital, Ibadan, as the College of Medicine officially inducted doctors into their profession.

Professor Olayinka Omigbodun, the Provost of the College of Medicine, hosted the event, and it had in attendance the Vice Chancellor, University of Ibadan Prof. Adebowale, as the Chairman of the event.

The events also had other important guests like Dr. T.A.B Sanusi, the Registrar of Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria. (MDCN)

The event, held on Saturday, the second of September, 2023, featured speeches from the Provost, Vice Chancellor and the MDCN Registrar.

Speaking, the Vice Chancellors charged the new Doctors to do their best to manifest all the virtues of hard work and Godliness. He also implored them to be good ambassadors of the university and to sustain the current high standard of the medical program.

University of Ibadan College of Medicine awarded two male valedictorians: Ughagwu Kelechukwu Peter and Iyawe Efosa Peace.

The College of Medicine also gave two personnel the Provost’s Award For Excellent Participation in the Community:  Amaji Obinna Charles took home the male category, while Nwagbara Jaachima Oluwabunmi won the female category.

Meanwhile, Leadership Awards were presented to Emeritus Professor O. O. Akinkugbe and Mr. Salami Oluwaferanmi David.

Leave a Comment