University Of Ibadan Medical Students’ Association Elects First Female President

By: Covenant Odedele

Upon the announcement by the UIMSA Electoral Committee, Jaachimma Nwagbara emerged as the First Female President of the Association after polling 445 votes, edging Eniola Akinnuoye who polled 337 votes.

The result of the elections, which took place online on Saturday, 30th of April, 2022 was announced, and she emerged with the highest number of votes making history as UIMSA’s first female president since over 60 years of the Association’s establishment.

Six positions out of the eight positions contested were contested unopposed. Olorunyomi Fola-Oyetayo, a 500L student emerged as the Vice-President, with 688 votes, Maryam Odeleke, a 500L student emerged as the General Secretary with 754 votes, Olamide Jaiyeoba, a 400L student emerged as the Assistant General Secretary with 715 votes, Esther Olaoye, a 400L student emerged as the Treasurer with 700 votes, Opeyemi Ilori, a 400L Student emerged as the Public Relations Officer with 736 votes and B’Oluwatife Bolatito, a 400L student emerged as the Special Duties Officer (Clinicals) with 694 votes.

Four candidates contested for the position of the Special Duties Officer (Preclinicals), and Folusho Olu-Adegbola emerged as the winner with a cumulative of 404 votes out edging Ayomide Makanjuola, Mubarak Alimi, and Collins Ijezie; all 200L students with 51, 150 and 175 votes respectively.

With no candidates for the positions of the Financial Secretary and the Sports Secretary, we await the decision of the Senate about the election into these offices.

Leave a Comment