School Of Science, Oyo Emerges Champion of the Roseline Etuokwu Sigma Secondary School Quiz Competition

By: John Eriomala

Students from the School of Science, Oyo, were on Friday, 27th May 2022, crowned winners of the 2nd edition of the Roseline Etuokwu Sigma Secondary School Quiz Competition.

The event which took place at the International Conference Centre, featured 10 schools from within Oyo State. These 10 were the finalists from the initial preliminary stage which featured 294 schools and the zonal stage where 33 schools participated.

Sigma Club, University of Ibadan, the event’s host, is a social and philanthropic student organisation whose vision is to build competitive “whole men” capable of making a national and global impact.

Founded in 1950, Sigma has several programs aimed at impacting students and society, with the Quiz Competition being the latest.
Speaking at the event, Mr. Adeyemo Olusegun who stood in for the Commissioner of Education, Oyo State, commended the activities of the Club and advised students in attendance to focus on their education, acquiring skills that would help them flourish. Other dignitaries present include; Professor Fakolade O.A who delivered the opening remark on behalf of the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, Dr. Demola Lewis, the Deputy Dean of Students, and Professor Kola Aina, among others.

A highlight of the event was the Special Quiz round for teachers. Mr. Ismail Ayeki, a teacher from Ansarudeen Girls High School 1, Saki bested 9 others in General Knowledge questions to win a cash prize. With a smile on his face, he said to the Indy Press correspondent, “I’m very elated and wish that programs of this nature continue. The teacher’s round was not expected but as a teacher, you need to be confident at all times. I had confidence in myself, volunteered, and thank God, I won”.

The winners, School of Science Oyo, walked away with the grand prize of 250,000 Naira ahead of runners up, Bishop Phillips Academy, Government College, Ibadan and Ogungbode Memorial Grammar School, who won 200,000Naira and 150,000Naira respectively; prizes won after 2 rounds of questions ranging from the Sciences to Literature and a final speed round of the fill-in-the gap format.


Leave a Comment