Independence Hall Inaugurates 12th Assembly, Elects Principal Officers

Emmanuel Utibe

On Sunday, the 11th of July, 2023, the 12th Assembly of the Independence Hall was inaugurated at the plenary session which held at the Junior Common Room (JCR).

Prior to their inauguration, the previous house, the 11th assembly, held their valedictory sitting which involved the presentation of certificates to outgoing Honourables and plaques to its principal officers.

The inaugural sitting for the 12th assembly was overseen for most part by the erstwhile speaker, Rt. Hon. Ajenifuja Stephen who presided over the election of all the principal officers of the new assembly.

The election for the speaker was contested between Hon. Olaoye Samuel of A1 Constituency and Hon. Fagbamila Ayomide of C3 Constituency. Hon. Samuel won by nine votes against Hon. Ayomide’s one.

Some drama also followed the reluctance of the speaker to honour a motion of the house which moved for a 5-minute recess.

The speaker had hit the gavel to signal that the motion was to come into effect even as he remained reluctant to allow it. His oversight of proceedings in the House was also contested on the basis of the election of a new speaker.

Subsequently, the legislators headed to a recess after a point of correction was raised to the speaker’s gaffe.

Other elected principal officers include Hon. Ridwan, Deputy Speaker, who picked 5 votes over his opponent, Olaoye David’s 4; Hon. Olufemi Inioluwa who ran unopposed for the office of Clerk; and Hon Ayinde Samuel who emerged as the Chief Whip over Hon. Akanbi Ezekiel.

The new speaker in his opening statement, noted that the 12th Assembly will carry out a review of the outdated constitution and embark on a parliamentary visit in the first semester, among others.

Leave a Comment