Indy Press Inaugurates New Editorial Board

By: Victor Ogunyemi

The Great Independence Hall Press, shortly referred to as Indypress, has on Saturday, March 23rd, 2024 officially inaugurated its new editorial board.

The outgoing editorial board consisted of Kelvin Omachonu as the Editor-in-Chief; Habeeb Akorede as the Deputy Editor-in-Chief; Aduwo Ayodele as the Managing Editor; Tolulope Ayeye as the Features Editor; Eriomala John as the Entertainment Editor; Lawal Damilare as the Sports Editor; and Ajadi Sodiq as News Editor.

In attendance at the official handover ceremony held at Indypress Secretariat were the 35th UCJ UI President, Oluwatobiloba Odeyinka; former Editor-in-chief of Indy Press 2018/2019; Chidera Anushiem; and the General Secretary of UCJ, Joshua Fagbemi.

Speaking at the event, Mr. Chidera charged the new editorial board to uphold the organisation’s tradition of excellence.

“I always say this, you need to recognize the importance of the institution you are a member of. Over the last four to five years, Indypress has been winning the best local press and hall awards, back to back. Of every article or member, excellent is the culture” he said.

“I implore you to ensure that Indypress does not die on your watch” Mr. Chidera added.

The outgoing Editor-in-Chief, Kelvin Omachonu, while addressing the new Editorial Board, disclosed the benefits he has enjoyed as a member of the press.

“IndyPress is not just a press organization but a family. Whenever I have any issue, I can reach out to Theophilus; I can reach out to Chidera and John, even if it is a personal issue” the outgoing Editor-in-chief said.

“IndyPress is a place where you can enjoy a lot of opportunities. Always ensure you maximize these opportunities; otherwise, you will regret it” the out-gone Editor-in-chief concluded.

As the event proceeded, the new Editor-in-chief, Ayodele Aduwo explained what being a member of the press entails.

“ In Indy Press, there is a tradition of excellence. The new Editorial has no choice than to carry on the banner.”

“Joining Indypress, working with Indypress has always been tasking towards excellence, and I think the new Editorial Board and the organization as a whole have a role to play in ensuring the continuity of that excellence”.

Members of the newly inaugurated Editorial Board are Aduwo Ayodele as the Editor-in-Chief; Toluwalope Ayeye as the Deputy Editor-in-Chief; Nnamdi Ochi as the Managing Editor and Politics Editor; Ajadi Sodiq as the Online Editor; Sonaike Peter as the Features Editor; Favour Bamijoko as the Arts and Entertainment Editor; Victor Ogunyemi as the News Editor; and Yusuf Ramon as the Sports Editor.


Comments are closed.