UCJUI Inducts Campus Journalists, Presents FFA Awards

By: Ajadi Sodiq

The Union of Campus Journalists, University of Ibadan (UCJ-UI) has on Saturday, 1st of April 2023 inducted more than ninety student-journalists into her Union.

The 34th oath taking and induction ceremony for the 2021/2022 session of the Union  was held at Trenchard Hall, University of Ibadan, Nigeria.

The event witnessed the gathering of prominent personalities like Fisayo Soyombo, who is an alumnus of UCJ-UI and founder of Foundation for Investigative Journalism; Mrs. Seyi Awojulugbe, a Finance Journalist and Fact-Checker; Mr Dapo Olorunyomi, Publisher of leading investigative news platform , Premium Times and founder of Centre for Journalism Innovation and Development; Mr Olaoye, who represented the University registrar, Mrs. O. Faluyi; Mr Mojeed Alabi, who also represented the UCJUI’s grand patron; and Dr. Babatunde Ojebuyi, who represented the Vice-Chancellor and Dean of students, among many others.

Speaking to the inductee, a journalist with TheCable and former member of the UCJ-UI, Mrs. Oluseyi Awojulugbe  charged the inductees to commit themselves into the ethical practices of Journalism, while noting that whatsoever each inductee does can potentially change the world.

“Everyone is a thread that makes the fabric of Nigeria. Everything we do and everything we stand for will lead to the change we want to see in our society.”

The ceremony also featured a panel session on Students’ Leadership and Press Freedom. The session, moderated by the Editor-in-Chief of IndyPress, John Dare-Okafor featured Dr. Babatunde Ojebuyi who represented the Dean of Students; Adeyinka Adewole, the University of Ibadan, Students’ Union President; and Mrs. Seyi Awojulugbe, as panelists.

Some other features of the 34th induction ceremony included presentation of awards in two categories to five famous personalities and the best inductees. Winners for Fisayo Soyombo Essay Competition were also unveiled at the event.

Leave a Comment