Indy Press E-in-C Wins Best Campus Journalist and Best Graduating E-in-C

By Aduwo Ayodele

Indypress Editor-in-Chief, John Dare Okafor was on Saturday, 06 May 2023 announced the ‘Best Campus Journalist’ and ‘Best Graduating Editor-in-Chief’ at the Dinner Night ceremony, convened by the Union of Campus Journalists, University of Ibadan.

At the glamorous event held at Tafawa Balewa Hall, these separate awards were presented to John Dare Okafor, a final-year student of the Department of Counselling and Human Development Studies, in recognition of his resilience and dedication to campus journalism at the University of Ibadan. Expressing his unfeigned gratitude about the awards, John Dare Okafor noted that the awards were evidence of the nature of his growth as a graduating campus journalist.

“I’m grateful for these awards, they’re testaments to my growth and experiences as a campus journalist at the University of Ibadan. I’m also grateful to the house that housed me – Indy Press Organization” he said.

John Okafor, the outgoing Editor-in-Chief of Indypress has served in various capacities such as the Managing Editor of Indypress, Deputy Editor-in-Chief, and General Editor of the 32nd UCJ administration. He was also a member of the 34th UCJ Electoral Committee and Chairman of the Monitoring Committee of the same administration.

Leave a Comment